About Us

Mnaamodzawin Health Services was officially established as a health authority, by the United Chiefs and Councils of Manitoulin (UCCM) in 1996.  This was accomplished through the signing of the first Health Transfer Agreement, under the umbrella of UCCM.

The primary goal set forth by the Chiefs at the time, was to gain control of health services, ensuring that they met the unique needs and the Cultural values of the
member First Nations on Manitoulin Island. With the support of the Chiefs of UCCM, UCCM Health Services became incorporated
in 1999, and officially became known as Mnaamodzawin Health Services Inc.

Mnaamodzawin Health Services Inc. is governed by a Board of Directors, which is comprised 2 voting members, from each of our partner communities, for a total of ten members.  Within the Board of Directors, we have an Executive Committee, comprised of a President, Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer.

Board of Directors

President, Kevin Mossip, Zhiibaahaasing First Nation
Vice-President, Cara McGregor, Whitefish River First Nation
Secretary/Treasurer, Karen McGraw-Shokan, Aundeck Omni Kaning First Nation
Chief Irene Kells, Member, Zhiibaahaasing First Nation
Leona Nahwegahbow, Member, Whitefish River First Nation
Andrew Aguonie, Sheguiandah First Nation
Chief Elvis Mishibinijima, Sheguiandah First Nation
Loretta Roy, Member, Sheshegwaning First Nation
Marie McLeod, Sheshegwaning First Nation
Bryan Corbiere, Aundeck Omni Kaning First Nation

MHS is governed by a President, Vice-President, Secretary/Treasurer and Members that are elected from the First Nations that we are partnered with.

The Board of Directors hold monthly meetings at the Mnaamodzawin Health Services Inc. main office.

Our Team

Senior Management

Craig Abotossaway, BSW, MSW, Executive Director
Lee Turley, BScN, RN, RPN, Director of Care
Linda Kimewon, Finance Manager
Rebecca Milne, Allied Health Manager/Human Resources Officer*
Tracy Tooley, Operations Manager


Cathy Prenter, Receptionist
Roberta Watts, Finance Assistant/Inventory Clerk*
Robin Maltby, Program Assistant/Social Navigator

Staff noted with * are dual roles that pertain to administration

Community Health Nurses

Lauren Dewar, BScN, RN, Clinical Team Lead Educator/Privacy Officer*
Kathleen Taylor, BScN, RN, NSWOC, Transition Facilitator
Ashley Moga, BScN, RN, COVID Prevention Nurse
Lisa Madahbee, RPN, Community Health Nurse
Dione Runnalls, BScN, RN, Community Health Nurse
Jamie Lynn Duncanson, RPN, SWAN, Community Health Nurse
Ovi Moga, RPN, Community Health Nurse
Cherise Opolko, RPN, Highschool Community Health Nurse
Angela Shawanda, RN, MScN, MScN-PHC-NP, Community Health Nurse

Diabetes Education

Eleanor Debassige

Healthy Babies, Healthy Children

Terry Willemsvandyk, RECE, Resource Teacher (RBT)
Donna Gammie

Homecare Department

Jennifer Contant, Personal Support Worker
Kelly Manitowabi, Personal Support Worker
Lindsay Owl, Personal Support Worker
Serge Krieger, Personal Support Worker
Veronica Recollet, Personal Support Worker
Victoria Ross, Casual Personal Support Worker

Mental Health Department

Paul McDonald, RSW, Team Lead Mental Health Clinician
Jacquie Allen, RP, Mental Health Clinician
Ken Lander, RSW, Mental Health Clinician

Meals on Wheels Department

Angel Martinez
Simon de Sousa

Visiting Healthcare Professionals

Dr. Koka, Adult Psychiatry
Dr. Sanchez, Child Psychiatry
Dr. Tara Clapp, ND
Arrole Lawrence
Doreen South
Ken Kakeeway

Annual Report